I’m half the cat I used to be – and I LOVE IT (the best part is at the end!)

Where’s Lily been?! Those of you who may have initially followed along with my musings may have realized that everyone’s favourite rotund feline (besides Garfield of course) has been on somewhat of a prolonged hiatus. This is true, but I have not abandoned you all!

I’ve been busy recreating myself, and the healthcare team at O’Sullivan Animal Hospital has been working round the clock (literally!) during a massive renovation of the hospital. Lots of exciting things have been happening since I wandered away from the keyboard. 

994736_1229510427064660_2344195688708095399_n

First things first – the clinic, still at 420 Leacock Drive in Barrie Ontario, is now open! It is a gorgeous new facility, with veterinarians on-site 24/7 to address any and all of your pet healthcare needs. It has dual certification as a companion animal hospital and a companion animal emergency clinic. In addition to the new, larger, layout and some exciting advancements on services that we can offer our clients, we have also officially opened our Pet Rehabilitation Department complete with in-ground heated swimming pool AND underwater treadmill! If you’d like to see what we’ve been up to please feel free to stop by for a tour, we’d LOVE to see you! 

Now, I know you’ve all been sitting on the edge of your seats wondering how I’ve been doing. I’ve alluded to self-reinvention and I’m not one to disappoint! Being honorary staff blogger I had to checkout the new clinic and while I was there I took a deep breath and stepped onto the scales (okay, lets be honest here, I protested like I was being cat-napped and my very own Dr. Watson plunked me on the scale – but I prefer to remember it in a more positive light).

IMG_1519

YogaCat logic – so Zen beside the yoga mat, thinking she prefers Savasana pose!

At any rate, we were both MORE than pleasantly surprised with my weight-loss progress! I’m now officially 5.5kgs, which means I’ve lost 1 kg since the end of November! This works out to be an astounding 15% of my body weight and I couldn’t be happier!

When I was at my heaviest, in 2014, I was an estimated 70% overweight, the equivalent of an adult female human being 102lbs overweight! 

Today, while I am still overweight, I am no longer considered obese, and am an estimated 20% overweight, the equivalent of an adult female human being only 30lbs overweight. I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt so wonderful.  (Is your cat overweight? Put it in PURRspective!)

Obviously proper portion control and the use of the veterinary prescription diet, Hill’s Metabolic, has made a world of difference in my life, but Dr. Watson wanted us to touch upon a couple of other things we have added in to improve my weight loss success and help with my mobility.

img_dog_arthritis_cartilage_en

Dasuquin is an important part in my mobility support plan, it helps preserve cartilage and healthy cartilage is key in arthritis prevention! (Image source; Hillspet.com)

The joint supplement that I currently use is called Dasuquin for Cats it is an unflavoured power that is sprinkled on my dinner, so the only thing I notice is the improvement in my mobility! Dasuquin is a blend of glucosamine and chondroitin sulphate which help promote cartilage health and delay further breakdown. Dasuquin also has the added benefit of ASU, which is derived from avocado and soybeans – this ingredient has been shown to improve the activity that glucosamine and chondroitin have in delaying cartilage breakdown when compared to glucosamine and chondroitin alone!

My canine brothers also receive Dasuquin for dogs, they love getting their chew tablets and take them as yummy treats (but you couldn’t pull a trick like that on a cleaver kitty like myself!) If you’d like to know more about joint supplements available for your furry family members please don’t hesitate to contact the office at 705-728-8387 or by email oah24hr@gmail.com

I do happen to have one more trick up my furry sleeve as far as my weight loss goals go. Like I mentioned above, O’Sullivan Animal Hospital has recently opened their rehabilitation department, and my very own Dr. Watson, along with Dr. Pask and one of the registered veterinary technicians at the hospital, Krista, have begun helping assist many pets with their mobility concerns. My very own Dr. Watson figured this would be an excellent opportunity to accelerate my weight loss and aid in my mobility support. Yes, dear reader, you’ve guessed it, I go swimming.

As ludicrous as it may sound, I have had several swimming sessions, and while I like to sing in the pool I am increasing my fitness by leaps and bounds, and last session I even managed to “kitty paddle” for a full 15 minutes (with breaks of course!). Now while I feel it is my duty as a cat to appear somewhat lukewarm about the entire experience, I must admit it is very nice to exercise without gravity pulling me down. The pool is also a comfortable 84 degrees which allows me to stretch my muscles comfortably. That, and as I have become more slim and trim, I must say I do look the part in my life-jacket – if only I had embarked upon my weight loss journey  in the 90s, I could’ve been Pamela Anderson’s Baywatch rival! But I guess I’ll have to settle for the OAH Feline Rehab Ambassador.

I know, you can’t believe it can you? I thought you might ask for PURRoof!

Check me out on YouTube!

Slightly soggy Purrs and Cuddles,

Lily

FullSizeRender-2

 

Leave a Reply

